At the end of September I went to see The Equalizer starring my man Denzel Washington.  His character, Robert McCall, brought up that his wife had been working through a list of 100 books to read in a lifetime and like any self-respecting book nerd I thought that was the best idea ever so I wanted to do it too.  Needless to say, I googled it as soon as I got home… well more like a week later when I was again looking for a new book.  Lately, I had been reading various books based on recommendations, random pickings, and book clubs, but I wanted something measurable, interactive, and specific.

I soon learned that in the beginning of 2014, Amazon put out a list of their current 100 Books to Read in a Lifetime.  After finding the list online and printing it out, I started checking off what I had already read and looking into what I would read next.  Thusly, on my next trip to the library I pulled out my handy dandy list and decided to read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

People often referenced it but I was not at all clear what the story was about.  I just knew it was based in a time past.  When I first started to read it and realized the setting and the language, I thought I would get bored having to figure out the vernacular and force myself to relate to what would of course be some snobby aristocracy.  I was pleasantly surprised to hear a story that is so truthful to life and still relative to today.  It was refreshing to see the old standards and morality that distinguished men and women of that time.  In today’s age we are in a free world… sometimes too free.  Nonetheless, I enjoyed the book thoroughly and could not wait to get to the end.  Obviously this isn’t much of a book review but I just wanted to share a little enlightenment in my life.

Also, random but maybe coincidental… I recently watched Bridget Jones’s Diary for the first time a couple months ago and the character Mr. Darcy kind of reminds me of Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice.  I wonder if that was done on purpose.  Just a thought.

* * *

Now that I have finished Pride and Prejudice, it is time to return to the list.  Truth be told, some of the titles and topics I could care less about (upon first glance) but we should never judge a book by its cover, right?  Something else I have found out as of late (particularly through the book club I participate in) is that sometimes I may not fully enjoy a book or its subject matter but by deciding to read it without pre-judgments I will have:

1) determined whether I truly dislike a topic or story based on my own experience

2) I’ll have learned something new (fiction or nonfiction, regardless of the genre).

That being said, I am going to try and read through all of those remaining on my list and see what else I can learn.  Wish me luck!!  I am going to keep track of those that I have read here, and update as I go along.

 

P.S. – Denzel is the man so whatever he (or his characters) say I pay attention.

Leave a Reply

