NaNoWriMo or NaNoWri No?

I’m supposed to be writing a novel.

NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. You basically blitz write for a month battling your never ending inner critic and get yourself a pre-pre-draft to revise into an actual novel (if you stick with it).  You also get to award yourself immense credit for having accomplished a feat of 50,000 words in a short period of time.

I’ve been telling people all about it in the hopes that it’ll help me get into drive and focus on my writing. When they ask how it’s going I’ll have a response I want to give, right? Well, not where I currently stand I won’t. 

We’re at the start of week two and I should have about 13,336 words on my page to be on target for my 50,000 word win.  I have a whopping…

*drumroll please*

… 987! What? Like, I’m not even trying and I wonder what is holding me back.  I know WHO is holding me back. *raises hand* That would be me.  But knowing who doesn’t explain why. 

Who knew fighting to write meant fighting yourself even before you get to the page!!

Leave a Reply

